The importance of Presence (Being in the Now)

Just stay present. It sounds so simple, doesn’t it? I’ve been trying to practice mindfulness throughout all aspects of my life and each moment of the day. As soon as I wake up, I meditate. I try to apply it when I walk, eat, talk, and just be. It’s working. It really helps. I notice that as each day passes, I improve. That’s not to say I don’t struggle with getting carried away by negative thoughts and unregulated emotions that risk me acting impulsively and then regretting my actions…but I’m now more aware of it. And as a result, I’m able to respond more effectively to the circumstances at hand – be it my stress or anxiety, as I’m more readily able to catch myself when I feel my mind wander and redirect my thoughts to the present. I know when I need to take deep breaths to calm any strong emotions that arise. I know how important it is to not dwell on what’s passed and to not worry too much about what’s to come because in most cases, there isn’t much I can do about it; especially in the case of the past. There’s no going back. All I can do is make peace with it. So the only moments I have are those that are occurring right now. That’s all we have, really. The now. But many of us (and I myself am included) are guilty of living at any of the other times. We long for either the past or the future (whichever appears more ideal to us) and look to it as a time where we were happy or think we’d be happier. We completely take the present for granted. And this is such a great shame, because this is where our life unfolds. This is where I journey takes place. And so I think it’s important to remind ourselves of that, for we often let life sweep us away. Stay present. Be aware. Accept where you are right now and be thankful for what you do have. Life is precious and impermanent. Don’t waste it. Live in the now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

