Self-help Journey: Recovering from OCD

Back in Starbucks, virtually the only place on my part of the island where I get to plug in my laptop and sit for hours doing as I please while sipping my favorite drink. I was supposed to get started on another project for college but upon finding out that the due date was far later than expected and knowing I’ve the next few days off, I’ve opted to instead finally get around to ordering those books on OCD in an effort to further help myself through this recovery process. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned before but when you’re going through it, you feel like you’re mad and you’re the only person that has this illness.  It’s terribly alienating and only contributes to a worsening of anxiety so I’m hoping that once they arrive I’ll find some relief from not only the suggestions made to manage it but from knowing that others went through it as well, some with thoughts so severe that it effectively crippled them. It would give me hope to know that those with the illness on the more extreme end of the spectrum were able to overcome it. I’ve ordered the following books as I’ve heard good things about them (well, according to self-proclaimed OCD sufferers on the internet – don’t know anyone personally on my end suffering from it) and I should be able to expect them within two weeks or if I’m lucky, in a week: Mindfulness Workbook for OCD: A Guide to Overcoming Obsessions and Compulsions Using Mindfulness and Cognitive Behavioural Therapy by Jon Hersfield and Tom Corboy, Overcoming Obsessive Thoughts: How to Gain Control of your OCD by David Clark and Christine Purdon, and lastly, Brain Lock by Jeffrey M. Shwartz. Now I realize that each of those books pack a ton of information in itself and so  I imagine that I’ll be working to digest and apply one at a time, so I’ll need to have a good think about which would be best to start with. If you have any suggestions and especially if you’ve suffered from pure O, I would greatly appreciate them. On another note, I really have to make an effort to manage my sugar intake. It really drives up the anxiety levels unnecessarily but occasionally, I just need something sweet to alleviate the sour mood these thoughts put me in. Anyway, I’ll be keeping track of my recovery. Every day is a brand new day, as one of my lecturers just texted me this morning to wish me a restful day and share with me an article she found useful from…I can’t remember now, let me check…a site called Bible Teachings? Well, according to the picture that she’s attached her in the chat. It’s titled God Gave You Emotions. I haven’t yet read it so I suppose I could do that now…Oh, it’s a long post. I guess I could share a bit of that later on when I’ve got through it. Definitely looks like I’ve got quite a bit to get through.

Leave a Reply

